Bishop Chadwick Catholic Education Trust





A Short History of St. Anthony's Opera 1997-2010

Web-site: <u>www.st-anthonys-academy.com</u>

E-mail: enquiries@st-anthonys-academy.com

Twitter:

@St_Anthonys3 (St. Anthony's)

@AAASixthForm (St. Anthony's and St. Aidan's Catholic Sixth Form)

@BeaconSch (Beacon Teaching Alliance based at St. Anthony's)

Telephone: 0191 5658904

St. Anthony's has a strong tradition of musical theatre and light opera. Our recent musical theatre productions have included:

- School of Rock 2020
- Guys and Dolls 2019
- The Sound of Music 2018
- 'A Night at the Musicals' 2017
- Calamity Jane 2016
- Into the Woods 2015
- o Oliver 2014
- o Joseph 2013

We have a tradition of musical theatre and light opera stretching back over half a century.

There was a historic tradition of Gilbert and Sullivan opera productions at St. Anthony's during the 1940's and 1950's and there are some photographic records of productions from the earlier years in our school records held in the school library. The light opera tradition was resurrected in 1997 and there were annual performances by St. Anthony's Opera Group 1997-2010, directed by Mr. Dewhurst.

Mr. Dewhurst (Director) was assisted by Miss McGarey/Mrs. Tomlin (Producer), Mrs. Dewhurst (Vocal Coach) and many other students, staff and friends of the school including our very own Mrs. Dudley (Orchestra) who is now our Subject Leader: Music.

Much camaraderie developed between the staff and students who have took part in St. Anthony's Opera over the years and a number of students have entered theatre full-time, most notably Frances McNamee and Patrick McNamee. You can find information about Frances in the Alumna section of our website.

Below is a list of the light opera productions from those years and a record of those who have taken main parts in productions 2005-2010. If anyone can help us out with the cast lists from the 1997-2004 productions, then please do contact either Mrs. Dudley (Subject Leader Music and Associate Assistant Headteacher at St. Anthony's), or Mrs. Shepherd (Headteacher) via enquiries@st-anthonys-academy.com. We would be delighted to add cast list names for the 1997-2004 productions.

Light Opera 1997-2010:

- Iolanthe 2010
- The Pirates of Penzance 2009
- The Mikado 2008
- The Sorcerer 2007
- The Gondoliers 2006
- Ruddigore 2005
- Iolanthe 2004
- The Mikado 2003
- Yeoman of the Guard 2002
- The Pirates of Penzance 2001
- The Gondoliers 2000
- Ruddigore 1999

- Iolanthe 1998
- The Mikado 1997

Calling all past cast members of St. Anthony's Opera. We are trying to establish a list of all those who have taken part. If we have made an error or you can add any information then please e-mail : <u>enquiries@st-anthonys-academy.com</u> and mark "Opera: Mrs. Dudley and Mrs. Shepherd".

Iolanthe 2010 - Cast List

The Lord Chancellor – Ella Clasper Lord Mountararat – Abena Ansah Lord Tolloller – Clara Shepherd Private Willis – Patrick McNamee (St. Aidan's) Strephon – Lizzie Fetherston Phyllis – Christie Bainbridge Queen of the Fairies – Charlotte Riley Iolanthe – Rebecca Prestwood Celia – Bethany Guy Leila – Elizabeth Bradford Fleta – Emily Dodds

The Pirates of Penzance 2009 - Cast List

Major General Stanley – Rebecca Taylor Pirate King – Abena Ansah Samuel – Clara Shepherd Frederick – Lizzie Fetherston Sergeant of Police – Ella Clasper Mabel – Kate McCallum Edith – Bethany Guy Kate – Catriona Linsley Isabel – Bethany Guy Ruth – Christie Bainbridge

Mikado 2008 - Cast List

The Mikado of Japan – Rory Oliver Nanki – Poo – Christine French Ko – Ko – Emma Rodgers Yum – Yum – Kate McCallum Katisha – Clarissa Grimes Pooh – Bah – Abena Ansah Pish – Tush – Clara Shepherd Pitti – Sing – Rebecca Taylor Peep – Bo – Catriona Linsley

The Sorceror 2007 - Cast List

Sir Marmaduke Pointdextre – Hope Travers Alexis – Christine French Dr. Daly – Robyn Willis Notary – Abena Ansah John Wellington – Wells – Emma Rodgers Lady Sangazure – Rebecca Miller Aline – Lauren Dryden Mrs. Partlet – Rhiannon Oxley Constance – Sophie Sullivan

The Gondoliers 2006 – Cast List

The Duke of Plaza – Torro – Emma Rodgers Luiz (his Secretary) – Christine French Don Alhambra del Bolero – Kayleigh Oliver Marco – Frances McNamee Guiseppe – Laura Walton Antonio – Stephanie Pearson Francesco – Victoria Barlow The Duchess of Plaza – Torro – Rebecca Miller Casilda (her daughter) – Michelle Oakes Gianetta – Miriam Phipps – Bertram Tessa – Victoria Atkinson Fiametta – Laura Crawley Vittoria – Jennifer Brown Giulia – Sophie Sullivan Inez – Mica Denila

Ruddigore 2005 - Cast List

Sir Ruthven Murgatroyd – Frances McNamee Richard Dauntless – Christine French Sir Despard Murgatroyd – Laura Walton Old Adam Goodheart – Kayleigh Oliver Rose Maybud – Michelle Oakes Mad Margaret – Victoria Atkinson Dame Hannah – Rebecca Miller Zorah – Laura Crawley Ruth – Claire Liddell Sir Roderick Murgatroyd – Susannah Gibson Reverend Greengrass – Bethany Patience

Mrs. M. Shepherd (Headteacher)